World Aquatics Vice President, Sam Ramsamy, to be inducted into ISHOF as Honor Contributor in September: Part of Class of 2023

Sambasivan “Sam” RAMSAMY (RSA)

World Aquatics Vice President, Sam Ramsamy spent the early years of his life working toward the birth of a new South Africa. He fought for the eradication of the color ban in sport, toward creating unity in the sporting arena and advocating for the selection of teams that would be based on merit. Ramsamy insisted that athletes that of all races must be given an equal opportunity to participate.

Ramsamy was the founding member of the South African Council for Sport, established in 1973. In 1976, he became Chairperson of the South African Non-Racial Olympic Committee (SANROC) and in 1978 was named the Executive Chairman of SANROC. The two sports organizations were united in their purpose in pursuing an international sports ban on South Africa’s athletes and by doing so, fostered greater global support for the resistance against apartheid. Following the Soweto uprisings in 1976, Ramsamy petitioned countries to formalize a boycott of South African Sports, which culminated in the Gleneagles Agreement of 1977.

During the transition to democracy, he encouraged international support for the black sports body, the National Olympic Committee of South Africa and became its head in 1991.  He led the first non-racial South African team to the Olympic Games in 1992 Barcelona.

Mr. Ramsamy continued his mission in sports in South Africa, becoming a member of the IOC, FINA, numerous commissions, and serving in various roles. Currently, Ramsamy is FINA’s First Vice President, since May 2021, after serving many years as Second Vice-President (2017-2021) Vice President (2004-2017) and Bureau Member (1996-2004).

Come join Ramsamy and this year’s spectacular class of 2023 in Ft. Lauderdale.  If you cannot join us, consider making a donation. To make a donation, click here:

Class of 2023 Honorees

Bob Bowman (USA) / Honor Coach

Chris Carver (USA) / Honor Coach

Cesar Cielo (BRA) / Honor Swimmer

Kirsty Coventry (ZIM) / Honor Swimmer

Missy Franklin (USA / Honor Swimmer

Natalia  Ischenko (RUS) / Honor Synchronized Swimmer

Kosuke Kitajima (JPN) / Honor Swimmer

Heather Petri (USA) / Honor Water Polo Player

Michael Phelps (USA) / Honor Swimmer

Wu Minxia (CHN / Honor Diver

Sam Ramsamy (RSA) / Honor Contributor

Stephane Lecat (FRA) / Honor Open Water Swimmer

Trischa Zorn (USA) / Honor Paralympic Swimmer

2023 ISHOF Aquatic Awards – Presented by AquaCal
(Formerly the Paragon Awards)

2023 ISHOF Specialty Awards
Friday, September 29, 2023

Purchase Friday Night Tickets Here

5:00 –   Cocktails and hors d’oeuvres
Oceanview Veranda 
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach, 3030 Holiday Drive, Ft. Lauderdale, FL 954.525.4000

6:00 –   Awards Ceremony 
Caribbean Ballroom
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach

8:30 – Dinner on own

ISHOF Aquatic Awards – Presented by AquaCal

Swimming: Mike Unger (USA)
Diving: Ellie Smart (USA)
Water Polo: Mark Koganov (AZB)
Synchro: Maria Jose Brunel (ESP)
Aquatic Safety: Cullen Jones (USA)
Recreational Swimming: Sophia Forte (USA)

ISHOF Specialty Awards 
John K. Williams Jr. Award: Gail M. Dummer (USA)
Judge Martin Award:  Norm Taplin (USA)
ISHOF Service Award: Laura Voet (USA)
Buck Dawson Author’s Award: Elaine K. Howley (USA)
Buck Dawson Author’s Award:  Tom Gompf (USA)
Al Schoenfield Media Award:  John Lohn  
Virginia Hunt Newman Award: Amanda Gawthrope
Sammy Lee Award: USA Diving/Duraflex

**More ticket information to come**

 **All ticket sales are final unless event is canceled**


Host Hotel:  Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa

The Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa, (3030, Harbor Drive, Fort Lauderdale, 33316, 954. 525.4000) site of the Friday night awards ceremony is our host hotel.  The hotel has given us a special rate of $229 per room night.   Please make your reservations through the link below prior to August 29. 

(Be sure to say you do not want the resort fee or you will be charged $259)

To make reservations click here: 

Upscale retreat with private beach access, two pools, four restaurants, full-service spa and oceanside bar. Location of the Friday evening awards ceremony.

¼ mile south of the International Swimming Hall of Fame.

($30 Resort fee – Guests can opt out if not interested in resort amenities)

Additional Hotel Option: 

Courtyard Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, 440 Seabreeze Blvd., Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33316

(954) 524-8733.

Click Here:  Book your group rate for Honoree Ceremony 

Special ISHOF Guest Rate of $169 – $189 per night

Honoree Ceremony September 29-30, 2023: Last Day to Book: Friday, August 31, 2023.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x