International Swimming Hall of Fame Ceremonies a “Go” for this Year – USA Only, October 9th!



The International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) has made the decision to move forward with its annual events to induct new honorees into its esteemed Hall and honor its Paragon Award winners.

The events will be combined into one evening on October 9th, and will honor only those living in the United States due to Covid-19 travel restrictions.  The evening will honor 14 people, including 5 ISHOF Inductees, 4 Masters International Swimming Hall of Fame (MISHOF),  4 Paragon Award winners, and 1 Lifetime Achievement award.

The International honorees and award winners who will not be recognized this year due to travel restrictions, will be celebrated next year (2022) on October 14 and 15th in Fort Lauderdale.

Brent Rutemiller, CEO of ISHOF announced the decision to move forward when he sent the following letter to those being honored.

Due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic and the restrictions in travel to the United States, we have made the tough decision to induct only USA Honorees this year on October 9th, in Fort Lauderdale.

We have also decided to induct the Masters International Swimming Hall of Fame USA Honorees and honor select USA Paragon ISHOF Award winners that are associated with the competitive sports on the same evening to create a meaningful and manageable three hour event.

As a result, all international honorees and other award winners will now be inducted with the class of 2022 on October 14 and 15th  2022, in Fort Lauderdale, Florida

This is the current list of individuals who we will honor on October 9th, 2021 (This Year)

  • Saturday afternoon – Tour Aquatic Complex and Presentation of new ISHOF Buildings.
  • Saturday evening – Honoree Ceremony hosted by Rowdy Gaines and Debbie Meyer

International Swimming Hall of Fame Honorees
Brendan Hansen – Swimming
Rebecca Soni – Swimming
Elvira Khasyanova– Synchronized (Artistic) Swimmer
David Marsh – Coach
Bob Duenkel – ISHOF Contributor

Masters International Swimming Hall of Fame Honorees
Clay Britt – Swimming
David Cotton – Diving
Kerry O’Brien – Coach Contributor
Rose Cody – Artistic Swimming

Paragon and ISHOF Specialty Awards
Eddie Reese – 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award
Teri McKeever – Competitive Swimming
Dave Burgering – Competitive Diving
Betty Hazle – Synchronized Swimming
Lynn Comer Kachmarik – Water Polo


Host Hotel: Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa

Upscale retreat with private beach access, two pools, four restaurants, full service spa and oceanside bar. Location of the Saturday evening induction ceremony. ¼ mile south of the International Swimming Hall of Fame.

3030 Holiday Drive, Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33316 (954) 525-4000

Special ISHOF Guest Rate of $259 per night

Book your group rate for International Swimming Hall of Fame


Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach

440 Seabreeze Blvd., Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33316 (954) 524-8733

Special ISHOF Guest Rate of $169 per night

Honoree Ceremony October 9, 2021
Start Date: Wednesday, October 7, 2021
End Date: Tuesday, October 12, 2021
Last Day to Book: Friday, September 15, 2021

Book your group rate for Honoree Ceremony October 2021

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x