Cesar Cielo, Brazilian Sprinter & Olympic Gold Medalist to be inducted into ISHOF, September 2023

Cesar Cielo will be the third Brazilian swimmer to be inducted into the International Swimming Hall of Fame, after Maria Lenk and Gustavo Borges. Ranked as the top teenager in Brazil, Cielo’s career took off when he made the decision to attend college in the United States at Auburn University. Joining forces with coaches David Marsh and Brett Hawke, Cielo not only further fueled the NCAA championship tradition of the Tigers but emerged as a world-class threat who would alter the landscape of future Olympic Games and World Championships.

Cielo’s time at Auburn also allowed him to develop into a global star. At the 2007 World Championships in Melbourne, Cielo qualified for the finals of the 50 free and 100 free, where he placed sixth and fourth, respectively. Most important, Cielo recognized he belonged on the biggest of stages, and used this knowledge to fuel him on the road to the 2008 Olympics.

At the Beijing Games, Cielo fended off a stacked field in the 50-meter freestyle to become Olympic champion. His meet also featured a bronze medal in the 100 freestyle, and his gold in the shorter event is the only title won by a Brazilian in the Olympic pool.

The next year, at the 2009 World Championships in Rome, Cielo doubled in the 50 freestyle and 100 freestyle, the 100 free producing a world record. Later in the year, Cielo broke the world record in the 50 freestyle, with his 20.91 outing still standing as the global standard.

Cielo’s sprint success continued at the next two editions of the World Championships. In 2011 and 2013, he was golden in the 50 freestyle and 50 butterfly, his efforts in the fly demonstrating his ability to take his speed to another stroke. In between, he added a bronze medal in the 50 freestyle at the 2012 Olympic Games in London. Cielo was also a world champion in the short-course pool.

A three-time Olympic medalist and seven-time medalist at the long-course version of the World Championships, Cesar Cielo will long be recalled as one of the finest sprinters the sport has seen.

Come join Sprinter Cesar Cielo and this year’s spectacular class of 2023 in Ft. Lauderdale.  If you cannot join us, consider making a donation. To make a donation, click here: https://www.ishof.org/donate/

Class of 2023 Honorees

Bob Bowman (USA) / Honor Coach

Chris Carver (USA) / Honor Coach

Cesar Cielo (BRA) / Honor Swimmer

Kirsty Coventry (ZIM) / Honor Swimmer

Missy Franklin (USA / Honor Swimmer

Natalia  Ischenko (RUS) / Honor Synchronized Swimmer

Kosuke Kitajima (JPN) / Honor Swimmer

Heather Petri (USA) / Honor Water Polo Player

Michael Phelps (USA) / Honor Swimmer

Wu Minxia (CHN / Honor Diver

Sam Ramsamy (RSA) / Honor Contributor

Stephane Lecat (FRA) / Honor Open Water Swimmer

Trischa Zorn (USA) / Honor Paralympic Swimmer

2023 ISHOF Aquatic Awards – Presented by AquaCal
(Formerly the Paragon Awards)

2023 ISHOF Specialty Awards
Friday, September 29, 2023

Purchase Friday Night Tickets Here

5:00 –   Cocktails and hors d’oeuvres
Oceanview Veranda 
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach, 3030 Holiday Drive, Ft. Lauderdale, FL 954.525.4000

6:00 –   Awards Ceremony 
Caribbean Ballroom
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach

8:30 – Dinner on own

ISHOF Aquatic Awards – Presented by AquaCal

Swimming: Mike Unger (USA)
Diving: Ellie Smart (USA)
Water Polo: Mark Koganov (AZB)
Synchro: Maria Jose Brunel (ESP)
Aquatic Safety: Cullen Jones (USA)
Recreational Swimming: Sophia Forte (USA)

ISHOF Specialty Awards 
John K. Williams Jr. Award: Gail M. Dummer (USA)
Judge Martin Award:  Norman Taplin (USA)
ISHOF Service Award: Laura Voet (USA)
Buck Dawson Author’s Award: Elaine K. Howley (USA)
Buck Dawson Author’s Award:  Tom Gompf (USA)
Al Schoenfield Media Award:  John Lohn  
Virginia Hunt Newman Award: Amanda Gawthrope
Sammy Lee Award: USA Diving/Duraflex

**More ticket information to come**

 **All ticket sales are final unless event is canceled**


Host Hotel:  Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa

The Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa, (3030, Harbor Drive, Fort Lauderdale, 33316, 954. 525.4000) site of the Friday night awards ceremony is our host hotel.  The hotel has given us a special rate of $229 per room night.   Please make your reservations through the link below prior to August 29. 

(Be sure to say you do not want the resort fee or you will be charged $259)

To make reservations click here:  https://book.passkey.com/e/50527236 

Upscale retreat with private beach access, two pools, four restaurants, full-service spa and oceanside bar. Location of the Friday evening awards ceremony.

¼ mile south of the International Swimming Hall of Fame.

($30 Resort fee – Guests can opt out if not interested in resort amenities)

Additional Hotel Option: 

Courtyard Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, 440 Seabreeze Blvd., Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33316

(954) 524-8733.

Click Here:  Book your group rate for Honoree Ceremony 

Special ISHOF Guest Rate of $169 – $189 per night

Honoree Ceremony September 29-30, 2023: Last Day to Book: Friday, August 31, 2023.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x