Paragon Awards                           Presented By

The Annual Paragon Awards, sponsored by Pentair Aquatic Systems,  are presented for outstanding contributions to: Competitive Swimming, Water Polo, Competitive Diving, Aquatic Safety, Synchronized Swimming and Recreational Swimming.

Peter Daland / Two-time U.S. Olympic Head Coach

Competitive Swimming

For eight decades, Peter Daland has been involved in swimming, first as a swimmer, then as a coach at the club, college and Olympic levels becoming a world leader in the sport. One of the most highly respected individuals in swimming, Peter was his Swarthmore College Swimming Team Captain in 1947 and 1948 after which he guided the Rose Valley and Suburban Swim Club Teams of Pennsylvania as their coach during their formative years. He was Bob Kiphuth's assistant coach at Yale University from 1951-1954 during which time he was the founder of Junior Swimmer Magazine and co-founder with Kiphuth of Swimming World Magazine. In 1956, he moved to Southern California where for 35 years, he was head men's coach of the University of Southern California, winning nine NCAA Swimming and Diving National

Championships, 93 NCAA Division I individual titles and accumulating an unparallel dual meet record of 318-31-3 (.917) including 20 years of undefeated dual meet competitions. He was head coach of the 1964 U.S. Women's Olympic Team and 1972 U.S Men's Olympic Team and personally coached over 70 Olympians winning over 20 gold medals. For 16 years, he also coached the Los Angeles Athletic Club producing Olympic women swimmers and two National AAU team championships. Upon "retirement" from coaching in 1992, Peter has been the President of the World Swimming Coaches Association (1994-1998, 1968-1970) and Chairman of the FINA Coaches Commission (2000-2005). He has been ASCA Coach of the Year, received the highest National AAU and Collegiate awards and has been the official U.S. Representative at the European Swimming Championships for 11 years. Currently, Peter is completing his first of three written volumes entitled: History of Olympic Swimming 1896-1964. Volume II 1968-1984 and Volume III 1988 to Present will follow. Peter was inducted into the International Swimming Hall of Fame in 1977.

ISHOF Links and Information

More Information

Yearbook Archive

Home  |  About  |  Shop Membership  |  News  |  Contact  | © 2021 All Rights Reserved  |  Privacy Policy  |  Site Map