Lilli Allucci to be inducted as first female Italian Water Polo Player in ISHOF’s Class of 2024

Carmela “Lilli” Allucci will be the first Italian female water polo player inducted into the International Swimming Hall of Fame.  She will join a host of male Italian greats, including Cesare Rubini, Gianni Lonzi, Mario Majoni, Sandro Campagna and others.

Allucci competed at the 2004 Olympic Games as the captain of the Italian team that won the gold medal, only her second Olympics, as a member of the Italian water polo team.  The Italian team won five consecutive matches after losing 6-5 in the first match against the defending champions, Australia. In the final, they beat Greece 10-9 after extra time, in front of 12,000 fans cheering for the home team.  

Lilli has two World Championship titles (2001, 1998) and one silver medal (2003).  She has four European Championship titles (2003, 1999, 1997, 1995), along with a silver medal (2001) and a bronze (1991).  She is the second most titled player at the European Championships, only behind Netherlands player, Hedda Verndon.  In FINA World Cup competition, Allucci took silver in 1993, and bronze in 1999, and in FINA World League competition, she won silver in 2006 and bronze in 2004.  She has won seven consecutive Italian titles with team Volturno (1985-1991).   

Allucci was awarded the Knights of the Order of Merit of the Italian Republic in 2003 and the Commander of the Order of the Merit of the Italian Republic, both at the initiative of the President of the Republic. At the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens, she was given the ultimate honor, by being asked to represent her country and carry the Italian flag at the Opening and Closing ceremonies.

Come join Lilli Alucci and the rest of this year’s class of 2024 in Fort Lauderdale.  If you cannot join us, please consider making a donation.

To make a donation, click here:

This year’s International Swimming Hall of Fame Honorees include:

Honor Swimmers:

Lars Frölander (SWE)

Daniel Gyurta (HUN)

Dana Vollmer (USA)

1976 Women’s 4×100 Freestyle Gold Medal Relay Team (USA)

(Includes Shirley Babashoff, Wendy Boglioli, Kim Peyton*, Jill Sterkel)

Honor Divers:

Alexandre Despatie (CAN)

Yulia Pakhalina (RUS)

Wu Minxia (CHN)

Honor Artistic Swimmer:

Virginie Dedieu (FRA)

Honor Water Polo Players:

Carmela “Lilli” Allucci (ITA)

Vladimir Akimov* (USSR)

Honor Coach:

Dennis Pursley (USA)

Honor Contributor:

Dale Neuburger (USA)

ISHOF 59th Annual Honoree Induction weekend

 October 4-5, 2024 – Complete schedule will be forthcoming soon.


Host Hotel:  Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort & Spa

To make reservations click here:

321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd., Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33316 (954) 467-1111.

Special ISHOF Guest Rate of $229 per night, 

Additional Hotel Option: 

Courtyard Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach

 Book your group rate for Honoree Ceremony

440 Seabreeze Blvd., Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33316 (954) 524-8733

Special ISHOF Guest Rate of $169 – $199 per night


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Exit mobile version