(954) 462-6536   DONATE NOW

Master International Swimming Hall of Fame (MISHOF) Honoree Criteria



  1. Nominee's minimum age for beginning competition is 25 years. In the Masters category, FINA's official age groups begin at age 25 years.
  2. All nominees (swimmers, divers, synchronized swimmers, water polo players, coaches and contributors) shall have participated/involved with the sport for a minimum of 15 years, regardless of affiliation, athletes covering at least four different age groups.
  3. All nominees shall be limited to recognition for Masters participation only (not prior accomplishments).
  4. Emphasis is placed on international and regional performances,
  5. Individual total dominance within an age group
  6. A genuine contribution to the sport in general.
  7. Recognition of accomplishments is based upon:
      - FINA Masters World Records (FOR SWIMMERS ONLY: minimum of 20 FINA Masters World Records )
      - Masters World Championships
      - Masters Regional Championships (LEN, Pa Pacifics, etc.)
      - Masters National Championships
      - Masters National Records



All swimming nominees must meet the general criteria for all Masters nominees (see above).

To assist in evaluating the achievements of the four men and four women nominees in the SWIMMING CATEGORY ONLY, a point system has been devised. These swimmers achievements are reflected through the end of each prior calendar year. Of the nominations received, these individuals are at the top of the point system list and therefore would have achieved greater international success. You may use this point system to help in your decision- making process.  Points are awarded for:


  • FINA-recognized Masters World Records: (MINIMUM OF 20 FINA WORLD RECORDS)
      20 points  for each world record (1986 to present)
  • FINA Masters World Record Bonus points: 2 points for each full year a record is held
  • World Rankings (Masters Top Ten):
      5 points for 1st place, 3 points for 2ndplace, 1 point for 3rd place
  • MSI 1986-1991, FINA 1992-present.
  • FINA MASTERS World Championships:
       3 points for 1st place, 2 points for 2nd place, 1 point for 3rd place (Since 1986 held every two years).

Nomination Form

Home  |  About  |  Store Membership  |  News  |  Contact  | © 2021 All Rights Reserved  |  Privacy Policy  |  Site Map