International Masters Swimming Hall of Fame Class of 2016 Announced

The International Masters Swimming
Hall of Fame (IMSHOF) is proud to announce the 2016 class of inductees. The
group of eight outstanding individuals and organizations will be inducted at
the annual ceremony to be held on Friday evening, September 23rd, 2016, at the
Hyatt Regency Hotel in downtown Atlanta, GA, in conjunction with the 2016
United States Aquatic Sports XXXVII Convention. The prestigious IMSHOF class of
2016 includes four swimmers, one diver, one synchronized swimmer, one water polo club and 
one contributor, from three different countries: the USA,
Australia and France. For more details and event information, contact Meg
Keller-Marvin at



Since 1986, Margaret has been in the Top Ten for a total of 23
times.  She has set 14 long course and 20
short course FINA Masters World Records, mostly in the freestyle and individual
medley. She has competed in 4 FINA World Championships since 1990 winning 10
gold, 5 silver and 3 bronze medals.


Joanne has competed in Masters Swimming since 1981 and has been
in the Top Ten for 35 years.She has set 26 FINA
Masters World Records, 12 long course and 14 short course meters all in the


Nicolas first appeared on the Masters Top 10 in 1993 and has been
listed there for a total of 16 years since then. As a versatile swimmer, he has
set 25 FINA Masters World Records, 13 long course meters and 12 short course
meters in the freestyle, breaststroke, butterfly and I.M.


Thomas began competing in 1997, in the 70 – 74 age group and has
been ranked in the Top Ten for 19 continuous years. He has set 27 FINA Masters
World Records, 14 long course meters and 13 short course meters in the
butterfly, breaststroke and I.M. Thomas had a big run in 2015 breaking 9 world
records in his new age group (90-95).



Leadel Bean began synchro masters in 1995 in the 30 – 34
age category. She has competed in 9 FINA World Masters Championships, winning
12 gold, 6 silver and 4 bronze medals in her age groups. 



Richard Blough has competed in 4 FINA World Masters Championships,
4 World Masters Games and 2 Pan Pacific Masters World Aquatic Games, winning 19
gold medals, 6 silver and 7 bronze in the 1 and 3
meter springboards and 10 meter platform competitions.  In 2008 Richard suffered an injury that ended
his diving career.



Olympic Club is the oldest Athletic Club in the United States of America,
founded in 1860. It has fielded Masters
Water Polo
teams since 1988, when the first US Water Polo sanctioned
Masters Tournament was held. The Club made its International water polo debut
at the FINA World Masters Championships in 1996 at Sheffield, England, where it
won the 30+ Gold Medal and has participated in every FINA Masters World Championships
since, winning numerous gold medals.



Tom Boak was truly a pioneer in international Masters Swimming.
As president of US Masters
Swimming from 1985 to 1989, he led the United States involvement in Masters
Swimming, International (MSI). MSI was the first international Masters
organization and was so successful that FINA decided Masters should come under
their umbrella. Therefore, while Tom was President, USMS became part of FINA.
After his term, he has continued as treasurer and chair of various committees
of USMS and is one of the great ambassadors and promoters of adult swimming.


The purpose of
the IMSHOF is to promote a healthy lifestyle, lifelong fitness and
participation in adult aquatic programs by recognizing the achievements of
individuals who serve as an example for others. To be considered, honorees must
have participated in Masters programs through at least four different masters
age groups and are qualified by an objective point system based on world
records, world top 10 rankings and World Championship performances.
 The IMSHOF is a division of the International
Swimming Hall of Fame, in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. For more information,
please visit:


International Swimming Hall of Fame, Inc. (ISHOF), established in 1965, is a
not-for-profit educational organization located in Fort Lauderdale, Florida,
USA. Recognized by FINA, the International Olympic Committee
s recognized
governing body for the aquatic sports in 1968, its mission is to preserve the
history of swimming, celebrate the heroes, promote the benefits and importance
of swimming as a key to fitness, good health, quality of life, and the water
safety of all children and adults, and connect older generations of swimmers to
youth.  For more information please visit

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x