2014 Special Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Induction in Scotland

During a twenty six period between 1970 and 1995, no open water swimmers were considered for inclusion in the International Swimming Hall of Fame. Since that date, the selection processes failed reduce the number of well qualified Open Water Swimmer from being so honored from the nomination lists. To compensate those deserving athletes, the International Swimming Hall of Fame has authorized a special selection for the “truly great” Open Water Swimmers completing during this era. 

A special ceremony will be held on September 21 and 22, 2014 in Loch Lomond, Scotland to induct the following Open Water Swimmers: Judith van Njis (NED), Claudio Plit (ARG), David Yudovin (USA), Mercedes Gleitze (GBR),George Young (CAN).

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x