Judge G. Harold Martin

Presented for long and exceptional leadership, insight and dedication to the water safety of children and the cause of making Every Child A Swimmer. 




Robert E. Ogoreuc

Robert E. Ogoreuc

Robert E. Ogoreuc is an Assistant Professor in the Physical Education Department at Slippery Rock University where he also serves as Aquatic Director for the department overseeing the scheduling and operation of the lifeguards for academic classes. He served as the Head Men’s and Women’s Swimming Coach from 1991 to 2003. His teams recorded three undefeated seasons and produced numerous All-Americans. He earned the 1997 PSAC Men’s Coach of the Year.

He holds numerous certifications in the State of Pennsylvania, the American Red Cross WSI-IT and Lifeguard Instructor Trainer, YMCA Open Water Scuba Instructor, and NAUI certification. He has been the driving force in developing the curriculum for the Slippery Rock University Aquatic Minor. He was recognized with Aquatic International Magazine’s one of the 25 Most Powerful People in Aquatics, the AAHPERD’s National Honor Award and teaching awards at SRU. He has served on the Board of Directors to the National Water Safety Congress and the National Drowning Prevention Alliance. In 2002 he participated as a Scientific Diver for the Cambrian Foundations Commodore Project.

Robert has worked with the American Red Cross Water Safety Advisory Group that revised the Water Safety Instructors program in 2004, and served as Technical Reviewer for their Lifeguard Manuals. He has contributed to the United States Lifesaving Association, YMCA and StarGuard lifeguard textbooks and has made numerous presentations at the state, national and international conferences.

He also serves as the Training Officer for the Ocean City Beach Patrol in New Jersey responsible for training all new and recurrent lifeguards and the Ocean City Fire Department in surf rescue. He works as a liaison between government and public safety agencies. He has developed a statewide Surf Rescue Program that is sponsored by the New Jersey State Police.

Robert has published over 30 articles, given over 70 presentations, attended over 90 professional conferences and workshops and held 15 aquatic consulting positions.



Past Awards Recipients... 

2010  Russell "Rusty" Owens
2008  Joy McGinty
2007  Debbie Wasserman Schultz
2006  Dennis Carey
2005  George Olsen
2004  Yoshiko Sugahara
2003  James R. Martin
2002  Edd Kreiling
2001  Jim Stump, Seagull Productions
  Lynn Rickert
1999  Edd Kreiling
1998  John Fletemeyer
1997  George Hartman
1996  T. Denis Jotcham


Copyright ©   ISHOF | One Hall of Fame Drive, Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33316 | 954.462.6536 | All Rights Reserved |  Home |  Contact Us