Irving Davids/Captain Roger W. Wheeler Memorial

Conceived and donated by the New England Marathon Swimming Association in honor of Irving Davids and Captain Roger W. Wheeler, this award recognizes contributors to the administration of open water swimming.



Silvia Dalotto
Silvia Dalotto  

Silvia Dalotto has done much to enhance marathon swimming in Argentina and throughout South America. Upon completion of her own marathon swimming career, Silvia assisted the Race Organizers in Argentina with the organization of their respective races. During this period, she built an extremely tight bond with the swimmers and acted on their behalf with race organizers. She became the liaison with the South American swimmers and the other marathon event organizers throughout the world as well as the contact with the world’s swimmers to the South American events. During the critical financial crisis in Argentina, she was primarily responsible for the continuance of many events. She proved to be an excellent liaison between the Argentina Swimming Association and the race promoters. She is a certified FINA Open Water Official and has officiated at the FINA Open Water World Championships. On a visit to the United States, she was asked to attend a meeting of the Atlantic City Marathon Swim Organizing Committee. Her explanations and presentations proved invaluable in the committee decision-making process.


Previous Award Recipients...

1970  Joe Grossman
1971  Gerald Forsberg
1972  Buck Dawson
1973  Willy van Rysel
1974  Jerry Nason
1975  R. and A. Scott

1976  Aquatique Club Dulac St. Jean
1977  Connie Wennerberg
1978  Charles E. Silvia
1979  Dennis Matuch
1980-2001  Award Retired
2002  James J. Doty
2003  British Long Distance Swimming Association

2004  Roger & Val Parsons
2005  Lynn Blouin
2006  Dale Petranech


Copyright ©   ISHOF | One Hall of Fame Drive, Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33316 | 954.462.6536 | All Rights Reserved |  Home |  Contact Us